Minutes (to be approved at GC 2013) Communications Switching and Routing Technical Committee (TCCSR)

Meeting at ICC 2013, Budapest, Hungary

Wednesday, June 12, 2013 7:00am to 8:30am Sofitel Hotel Budapest, Hungary

Chaired by Guoliang (Larry) Xue, TCCSR Chair

Minutes by Abdelhamid Mellouk, TCCSR Secretary

- 1. Welcome/Introductions: The Chair welcomed the attendees, and they shortly introduced themselves to the others. The list of the TC members who attended the meeting is enclosed at the end of the minutes. The Chair also introduced the agenda of the meeting, which was accepted by attendees.
- 2. Approval of Minutes of last TC meeting held during GC 2012. The approved minutes are available on the TC CSR web site: http://www.comsoc.org/~cswt/
- 3. The chair shortly introduced the officers:
 - ☐ Chair: Guoliang (Larry) Xue
 - ☐ Vice Chair: Mohammed Atiguzzaman
 - Secretary: Abdelhamid Mellouk
 - Workshop and Conferences Chair: Hussein Mouftah
 - ☐ Liaison Standardization Committee: Henry Sutton
- 4. TAC Report: Technical Activities Council met on June 11, 2013. TCCSR Chair, Guoliang (Larry) Xue, attended the TAC meeting. The highlights of the TAC are given below:
 - TCs issues:
 - TC CSR Recertification : Decision due by GC 2013.
 - Tactical Communications and Operations TC is closed.
 - Conf Portfolio :
 - May stop some sponsored one or sponsor some in-coop.
 - Evaluating endorsed Criteria: New rules are defined: Maximum one person in 2 TC per year, etc.
 - Evaluating Criteria: Financial, Attendance, Technical Area, Quality, etc. Based on these criteria, an evaluation table was provided in order to rank the conferences. Technical cosponsorship allows papers to be included in IEEE Xplore.
 - Conference Quality Team (TPIC): Create-Net/ICST conferences
 - DL Program: Currently, there are 35 DLs, and 19 were nominated this year.
 The new rules were proposed by TAC: i) Should be a senior member or
 fellow, ii) Has a good capacity in lecturing, and iii) Propose good and timely
 topics.

- Fellow Nominations: This year 86 candidates are proposed from ComSoc. The evaluation decision is scheduled for April and May in November.
- ComSoc starts discussing about the strategic plan and vision of 2020.
- Website- audit of basic items, proper use of IEEE logos and Community sites <u>community.comsoc.org/groups</u>
- 5. Procedures and Policies: The current P&P available on the website dated in 2007. The Chair proposed to update the P&P regarding: Accuracy, Relevance and Timeliness. The TC adopted the modifications by vote (Unanimity). The approved draft is available on the TC website.
- 6. TC Elections: Based on the past TC CSR Election (GC 2011, Houston), the next election will be conducted in Atlanta during GC 13. There are 4 open positions: Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Workshops and Conferences Chair.

7. Reports on HPSR

- Hussein Mouftah reported the status of HPSR and discussed how to improve HPSR scores.
- HPSR 2013 (Taipei, July 1-4, 2013):
 - Besides 8 regular sessions, there are 3 tutorial talks, a Keynote speech, a Panel, and Poster session;
 - 5-star lunch (US \$30) at the hotel's restaurants every day;
 - A welcome reception with performance (US \$65) and a Banquet (US \$60);
 - The acceptance rate is 44%: 40 papers accepted out of 93 submissions;
 - There are total of 83 registrants, including 79 full registrations and only 4 tutorial;
- HPSR 2014: July 1-4, Vancouver, Canada. The CfP is available on http://www2.ensc.sfu.ca/hpsr2014/index.html.
- HPSR 2015: Tibor Cinkler presented a proposal to organize HPSR 2015 in Budapest, Hungary.
- 8. Reports on Conferences and Workshops:
 - a. Reports from NGN, Optical Networks and Wireless Networks symposiums at ICC 13:
 - a. NGN (183 submissions, 71 accepted, 13 sessions): Malathi "MV" Veeraraghavan, Joel Rodrigues, Wojciech Kabacinski
 - b. ONS (78 submissions, 3 accepted, 5 sessions): Xavier Masip-Bruin, Frnco Callegati, Tibor Cinkler.
 - c. WNS (274 submissions, 102 accepted, 18 sessions): Azzedine Boukerche, Pan Li, Min Chen.

b. Upcoming Events:

- i. GC 2013 (Atlanta): ONS (S. J. Ben Yoo Eiji Oki), NGNS (Mooi Choo Chuah, Ying-Dar Lin, Qian Zhang), WNS (Shiwen Mao, Lin Cai, Nei Kato).
- ii. ICC 2014 (Sydney): NGNS (Mohammed Atiquzzaman, Konstantinos Samdanis, Antonio Pescape), WNS (Weihua Zhuang, Pascal Lorenz, Jian Tang, Nurul Sarkar), ONS (Arun Somani, Philippe Perrier, Nathan Gomes).
- iii. GC 2014 (Austin): NGNS (Lawrence Yeung, Yevgeni Koucheryavy, Richard Pazzi), WNS (Shiwen Mao, Mohammad Atiquzzaman, Phone Lin, Damla Turgut), ONS (Jianping Wang, Yusheng Ji, Muriel Medard).

Minutes recorded by Abdelhamid Mellouk, approved by Guoliang (Larry) Xue and Mohammed Atiguzzaman.

Abdelhamid Mellouk, Secretary, TCCSR

List of attendees:

Larry Xue Arizona State University
Abdelhamid Mellouk Paris-Est Univ., UPEC
Mohammed Atiquzzaman University of Oklahoma
Hussein Mouftah University of Ottawa

Eiji Oki University of Electro-Communications

Nirwan Ansari NJII

Joel Rodrigues

Hossam Hassanein

Shiwen Mao

Jun Zheng

Cheng Li

Univ of Beira Interior
Queen's Univ.

Auburn Univ.

Southest University
Memorial Univ.

Abdallah Shami UWO

Deborah Kingston ComSoc Staff

Tibor Cinkler BME

Andrea Bianco Politecnico di Torino

Naoaki Yamanaka

Jalel BenOthmane

Stefano Giordano

Scott Fowler

Pascal Lorenz

Keio Univ.

Paris 13 Univ.

Univ. of Pisa

Linkoping Univ.

Univ. of Haute Alsace

Hamid Aghvami

Hamid Aghvami

King's College London

Zhensheng Zhang Ubic

Adlen Ksentini Univ. of Rennes
Marek Michalski Poznan Univ. of Tech.
Roberto Rojas-Cessa New Jersey Inst. of Tech.

Azzedine Boukerche
Xu Wu
Southeast Univ.
Jirsong Wu
Song Guo
Univ. of Ottawa.
Southeast Univ.
Bell Labs China
Univ. of Aizu

Tarek El-Bawab Jackson State Univ. Shui Yu Deakin Univ.

Shui Yu Deakin Univ. Borhanuddin Mohd Ali Univ. of Putra

Kokei Shimoto NTT